Social Studies Department

Welcome to the Social Studies Department!

Now, more than ever, social studies is a key component of a child's education. In order to understand events in the world and to participate in a democratic society, children need to build their knowledge of public policy and the complex interactions of individuals, governments, and nations.

We aspire to equip children with a knowledge of history so that they can begin to understand the multiple reasons why events unfold as they do and that the future is a result of the past. Knowledge of governments, past and present, helps students understand how people organize themselves in different ways. Experience with the viewpoints of diverse cultures and individuals challenges students and teachers alike to examine different opinions and approaches to living. Close attention is paid to essential skills such as writing and reading in history and the social sciences, using geography to understand history, and how to use these skills to conduct research. We also dedicate ourselves to providing important experiences in areas such as teamwork and public speaking as well as providing opportunities for students to discuss and analyze current events.

 Photo of Brooke Kessel Brooke Kessel
Social Studies Curriculum Coordinator, Grades 6-8
brooke_feldman@needham.k12.ma.us 



Grade 7 

Cluster

Teacher

Email Address

1

Jason Orlando

jason_orlando@needham.k12.ma.us

2

Nick Nogueira

nicholas_nogueira@needham.k12.ma.us

3

Joshua Sanders

joshua_sanders@needham.k12.ma.us

4

Maria Delvecchio

maria_delvecchio@needham.k12.ma.us

5

Ben Etscovitz

ben_etscovitz@needham.k12.ma.us


Grade 8

Cluster

Teacher

Email Address

1

Karl Kraus

karl_kraus@needham.k12.ma.us

2

Steve Mock

steven_mock@needham.k12.ma.us

3

Sandra Kuhn

sandra_kuhn@needham.k12.ma.us

4

Mike Ryan

michael_ryan@needham.k12.ma.us

5

Susan Gillespie

susan_gillespie@needham.k12.ma.us


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.